Quote

New Me?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “New Skin.”

What an interesting question.  I think I would do it for one day just to see what it would feel like to be someone different.  I would want to spend the day as a man.  To see whether there the sexes do get different treatment.

So much changes in one year.  Last year I turned 40 and I felt like I grew into myself.  Everything that has happened in my life has shaped me.  I’m a twin so to become a new person for a year would mean I would be losing the very essence of who I am.  What would it be like to be someone who has never experienced loss even for one day?  I don’t think I would want to be that person.  They have never had struggle, pain, compassion, growth.  My friends have said I’m an inspiration.  That they are proud of how strong I am.  Why would I want to give that up to be someone else?

Today is the first day of a brand new year.  So many possibilities.  I don’t really do resolutions but I know that this is a year where I will make myself a priority.  Have fun.  Dare to dream.

Leave a Reply

