Questions

Plead the Fifth
What question do you hate to be asked? Why?
I think the most common one would be “How are you?” It seems like such a simple question but I find most of the time people don’t really want to know what the answer is or they don’t want to take the time to really hear what the answer is. They want you to say “fine” so then they can go about your day. You should see the looks on people’s faces when I tell them “Pissed off” because sometimes I’m just having that kind of day. There are times when I’m having an off day and it’s just easier to tell people “I’m great” and they never know.
After Janet died the question I hated being asked is “Are you ok?” Ok in what sense? My twin just died. In the sense that I’m still standing and I look presentable and may or may not have showered today then yeah I’m ok. My cousin’s wife asked me this question at my Father’s memorial service and I was completely honest with her and told her I wasn’t ok that it hurt a lot. She was taken aback but I got to the point where I didn’t want to put on the act anymore.
I’m a what you see is what you get kind of person so if you look closely you can usually tell what the answer is going to be to any question before you ask it. If I like you I might even be straight with you.
Ask away.

One thought on “Questions

Leave a Reply

