Friends

Circle of Five
A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?
The first person that comes to mind would be my twin friend who lives in England. I would love to spend more time with her. We email back and forth almost everyday but it’s not the same as actually talking face to face. It would be fun to show her around my city. I would love to be able to write side by side with her.
Due to circumstances I haven’t had a long conversation with my church friend so she would definetely be on the list too. She has a way of listening and giving advice without telling me what to do. She gives me the space to figure it out on my own. I respect her for that. Plus she gives great hugs.
Once a month I get together with a friend for coffee. She has laughed with me, cried with me, rejoiced with me. She is a special person, someone who I can be myself with and that is a rare gift.
I live with my Mom so I guess I could say I spend the most time with her. We laugh at the same things, we can tease each other. Who else can I belch in front of and not feel embarassed? She is my mother but I also like her. I admire her strength and adversity in dealing with lifes challenges head on.
I guess the last spot would have to go to my friend from college. She is someone who has been with me through thick and thin. She has such a loving heart.
Of course the person that is always with me is my twin. She lives on through me. She is someone who is loved by all the people that I have mentioned. Although my twin friend has never met her she knows her through my shared stories.

3 thoughts on “Friends

  1. Pingback: A pastor, a rapper, a President, a writer and a wife. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

