My First Twinless Twins Conference Experience

The Happy Wanderer

MY FIRST TWINLESS TWINS CONFERENCE
Sitting at the computer in the library I typed “Twinless Twins” in the search engine. I had heard about the organization from a couple of people at the bereavement group I attended but never took the time to look it up. Scrolling down the page I paused “Oh, look at that…they are having a conference in Toronto”. I wrote out the dates and pertinent information on a piece of paper and stuck it in my purse.
A couple of weeks later I was over at a friend’s house. In the course of conversation I mentioned about finding this information online and before I knew it we were sitting in front of her computer filling out the necessary paperwork for registration. Before i knew what we were doing I had phoned up the hotel and booked a room for 2 nights.
While going home on the bus I thought “Have I just made a big mistake? Am I ready for this? It’s a lot of money for 2 days. What will my family say?” It’s a good thing the bus ride wasn’t longer as my mind was racing with questions but all of those had to be put in the vault until I could figure out how to tell my parents that I was attending. It wasn’t that I thought they wouldn’t approve we just didn’t discuss Janet as a family. What would they think of me talking to complete strangers. Thankfully plenty of time to think about it.
Train
I couldn’t believe how much stuff we had to prepare but we are finally going. I had asked a friend to come with me for moral support. Her voice droned on in the background as I was so nervous I wasn’t really listening. The 2hrs seemed to take forever and yet a part of me wished the train ride would go on forever.
When my friend and I checked in we scanned the lobby. Is that a TT she whispered. Somehow I thought they would have a mark or something that made them stand out. As twins we always stood out I just thought they would obviously stand out.

Leave a Reply

