Wishing for what I can’t have

Green-Eyed Lady
I can say there are times in my life when I am jealous. Not of people and their “stuff”. I’ve never really cared about aquiring things or keeping up with the Jones. I have everything I need.
I’m jealous of someone that doesn’t have any responsibilities. Someone that has free time to sit outside and read. What would it be like not to have the running to-do list in my head?
I’m jealous of the couples that go to church on holidays with their families. 3 generations sitting together. It’s a reminder of what I don’t have.
I’m jealous of people that have husbands to take out the trash, cut the grass, change a light bulb. It’s not that I want to get married I just want to borrow a husband for a while.
I remember going to church sometimes and I would cry because I missed my Dad or Janet. I wished I didn’t wear my emotions on my sleeve but I realized this is who I am. I don’t want to be like my relatives who never show emotion. That isn’t me.
If you have family that will be with you this weekend be thankful. Don’t miss an opportunity to tell someone you love them.

4 thoughts on “Wishing for what I can’t have

  1. “What would it be like not to have the running to-do list in my head?”

    You sound so much like me – I have a running To Do list in my head, on my computer, in my email . . . and then when I do get a chance to sit outside and read, I feel guilty because I think I should be doing something!

    Very nicely written!!

  2. Pingback: The heart wants what it wants. | The Hempstead Man

  3. Pingback: Inadequate | It's Mayur Remember?

Leave a Reply

