I feel like Cinderella before the ball

Happily Ever After
“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there?

Am I living “happily ever after”? After I stop laughing I would have to say no. As I told a friend last night “this is not what I signed up for”. I remember thinking when my Dad got cancer that happily ever after was for other people…not for me.
I remember when I purchased the quilt at an auction at a Twinless Twins conference. People would tell me you deserve it. I thought “Do I deserve it because of all the things that have happened to me or because I deserve to treat myself because I can. Because I’m worth it”. Cinderella had a Fairy God Mother, I don’t. I have to do things for myself. Remember in Shrek 3 when the women rescued themselves…that’s me.
I think happily ever after would mean being able to do things that I want to do. Having less responsibilities. Being content with where I am in life.
My life isn’t a fairy tale…I’m just playing the hand I’ve been dealt.

One thought on “I feel like Cinderella before the ball

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 21 – “Wicked Business” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment