DAD’S WORKSHOP

Ingredients
Last night around 6:30pm 2 guys came from a start up company called “tool lending library”. A friend of mine had posted a link on her Facebook page of an article in the newspaper about it. There really wasn’t time to do it until now. When Dad died I always wondered what we were going to do with his tools so I was really happy to see this. It was kind of funny seeing them exclaim over all the stuff Dad had. They were playing with this thing that Dad made that attaches to the top of the workbench that you can put a piece of wood in and then you tighten it. Did he make this? Yep. “Ingenius”. Most of it I didn’t even know what it was or how one would use it. Did I mention that none of his kids developed his talents for being handy? Janet was probably the best of the 3 of us. The taller guy bumped his head on the ladder (big enough to go up on the roof) and I said try being 5’8 and having to duck to go outside. They took the ladder too. While I am really happy someone can get use out of it there was a moment when they left and I stood there before I turned off the lights looking around at how empty it is. This was Dad’s domain. He would be down there most of the winter if he was working on a project. He would come upstairs smelling of sawdust. He confiscated Mom’s measuring spoons for measuring out stuff for sprayer. He stole her dust pan and she had to go and buy a new one.
I didn’t have sentimental attachment to Dad’s clothes but these were all things dad touched. It was like getting rid of his stuff was getting rid of his presence there. I know logically it’s just stuff but as I’m writing this tears are running down my cheeks. I never thought it would be this hard. And I know Dad is up in heaven thinking Jennifer you are a sentimental fool.
Maybe somebody’s Dad will work on a project with their son or daughter in the basement. I hope so.

One thought on “DAD’S WORKSHOP

  1. You are not a sentimental fool… on the contrary, you are a beautiful human being, and a precious daughter. When I lost my twin, I couldn’t come home because this was the place where I lost Susana, and it hurt so much. We had to do some changes to the room where we slept sadly because it was so painful. I wanted to have things that would remind me of what we loved the most and at the same time would honour my twin too. Susana must be so upset at me because we never did like changes… what I mean is that I am sure that your Dad is so proud of you because it takes such courage to do what you did. Plus, it was such a wonderful deed from you. What better way to honour your Dad than to pass these tools on to other people? I am sure they will be used for brilliant projects and that is thanks to your Dad and you.
    Sending much love and a huge twin hug!

Leave a Reply

