MOVED TO TEARS

Moved to Tears
I know the prompt says to describe the last time you were moved to tears by something beautiful but I’m going to do it a little differently and write a list of times in my life.

When my Dad was in the hospital dying of cancer I went to leave and I leaned over and gave him a hug and a kiss and said “luv you” and he said “I love you too”. That was the first time in my whole life he told me that he loved me. It’s the hardest thing in the world to be able to say goodbye to someone you love and know that you are leaving them.

This makes me cry everytime I read it. It was written to me by a friend from church who now lives in Sarnia. I was touched that he drove to London to suppport me at the funeral. “I also got the sense that you were a real gift to your Dad. Having two girls of my own, I know the depths of love a father feels for his little girls. So I sat there thinking to myself, “Jenn, I hope you know how much of a gift you were to your Daddy.” I guess that’s why I got misty when I heard that he delivered those words every kid (of any age) needs to hear from Daddy: “I love you”.”

When my brother got married. It was part joy and sadness because I sat there thinking of the two people that were missing but I was moved to tears by the love between my brother and his future wife.

When my niece was born. She was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen and my heart was so full. She brought so much joy into our lives.

Whenever someone shows compassion to me. When a friend tells me I’m amazing. Monday night I was talking to a friend of Mom’s from church and she told me that she was proud of me. It makes me cry when my writing teacher tells me that my Mom must be so proud of how much I have grown in my writing. I’m not used to praise.

I grew up with a Father that didn’t show emotion through tears. The first time I saw him cry was when Janet died. While there is sadness there THAT IS LOVE.

3 thoughts on “MOVED TO TEARS

  1. I am moved to tears by reading your post… You are indeed so special, and your writing teacher is right. Though I am quite sure your Dad, and Janet are SO proud of how amazing, talented and gifted you are too. Not only you are a dedicated daughter, a wonderful twin sister who honours Janet in everything you do, but you also manage to inspire other lone twins like me during this terrible journey. It’s on moments like these, when I read your words, that I am even more proud of being a twin because twins are the most amazing people there is.

  2. Jennifer, I really love this post. The range of things that move us to tears is tremendous and you document a wonderful sample of them. Thank you for sharing.

    Love, gail

  3. Pingback: Moved to Tears by “The Artist” (2011) | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

