She looks like such a sweet girl…who knew?

Well, I Never…
My troublemaking days started early. When we were little (around the age of 2) Janet would be making sand castles in the sandbox and I would come along and knock them over. Although there was a consequence for this action as Janet would bite me. Mom told me this story often when we were growing up.
When we were 9 a group of 4 of us would skip church to go to the candy store beside the church. If I had children now I would not recommend this. But my advice to you is to do what we did…use your own money and you will never be caught. My parents never knew until my friend told the story at Janet’s funeral.
We skipped out of other things that we didn’t want to do. For the most part we owned up to our responsiblities but we also didn’t want to feel taken advantage of.
After Janet died it gave me more freedom to say what I wanted to say. What were you going to do? I had experienced the greatest loss of my life, what could be worse? I have told family members off who had the audacity to tell me that people in our family died tragically because we are cursed, including my twin. As a Christian I don’t believe in that and I have told them. It devalues their life.
I have said things in anger. 9 times out of 10 I don’t regret it. It’s usually a case of things building up to a point where I can’t take it anymore. I don’t think I will ever have a relationship with my brother and I had to come to terms with that.
In life everyone has to do what is best for them.

Leave a Reply

