Family

Delayed Contact
How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?
If I met my brother for the first time I would like him. He’s like the guy you meet on a first date, he comes across as charming but then after a little while the true self comes out. Well not to everyone since his friends call him “number one nice guy”. I suppose it would be easier meeting someone without the history. Although when we were younger I loved my brother a lot but at this point I barely remember that time. Things are better. He appreciates being kept informed and even thanks me (which is a first) BUT I am a long ways from trusting him.
There are days when I don’t like my Mom. I do resent all the things that I have to do for her. We had someone from community care come today and as a caregiver I am not allowed to have someone come to sit with Mom for a couple of hours once a week so I can go to writing class. I knew enough not to tell her what it was for!! And yet if my Mom was dying I would be allowed 3hrs or more a week.
I am now at the point where I think it would probably be best if she was in a retirement home so she could get socialization. There would be someone there 24hrs a day. She sees it too. That this is no life for me. It is now 3:30pm and this is the first time I’ve been able to sit down all day and blog. And come hell or high water I’m going to continue to write everyday!
Thank you for reading and listening while I take you along this crazy journey.

3 thoughts on “Family

    • Because according to their evaluation she doesn’t need it. We could pay someone to come and look after her but we haven’t had good luck in getting decent support people.

      • I know by experience how important it is to have a bit of time off now and then. Hope you can find a way–a relative or friend, perhaps. But as you seem to both recognize, it is probably time to make that hard decision to put your mom into an assisted care facility.

Leave a Reply

