More Banned Words

Only Sixteen
Last night when I went to bed I was thinking that “assertive/aggressive”, “advocate” and fighting should all be banned from my vocabulary.
I have had to advocate for my family since Janet died. Because of the way she died we had to deal with the media. You know when you read a story and think “oh how tragic” well that was now us.
When my Dad had cancer I had to deal with getting information from Drs. I had to deal with family members who didn’t accept that he wasn’t going to have treatment when his cancer came back.
We are now getting the run around from the organization that is responsible for homecare. The nurse has phoned the office twice and still has not heard back about wound care for her foot. I’m the one who asks questions at her Dr appointments etc.
Growing up I wasn’t assertive. We were quiet people. I gave people the benefit of the doubt. I trusted people. Not anymore. I just wish I didn’t have to fight for care, for information. It shouldn’t be this hard!!
Oh I forgot…I have to advocate for myself in my own care.

Leave a Reply

