Take a Chance on Me

Take a Chance on Me
What’s the biggest chance you ever took? Did it work out? Do tell
In my life I have never been much of a risk taker. I think it’s only when I believe in something strong enough. In 1994 our church was thinking about creating a position for a youth minister. Unfortunately it meant that the current position of Christian Education would be terminated. They didn’t have enough money for both. It became quite volitile and Janet and I were given the evil eye by many people in the church because we believed strongly that this was something that the church needed. I stood up in front of the congregation and said if you really believe that the youth are the future of this congregation then it’s time to act. The person they hired was almost over qualified for the job but the kids loved him and the congregation grew to love him. Due to the fact that our church refused to pay him enough he ended up quitting after a year. It was how we ended up going to a different church. We just couldn’t accept that money was more important than people. I guess you could say that was a chance because leaving the church we grew up in was hard. And yes it didn’t go over well with some people either. Did it work out? One minister left to go out west, one retired but the one we have now is very down to earth. It’s my church family.

Writing this blog was a big chance. I debated for about 6 months before I decided to do it. It’s very personal writing about my relationship with Janet and now what it’s like being a caregiver. I don’t write for other people. I write what I need to say. But as my friend said “everybody has stuff”.

Last night I was talking to my brother. Things are slowly getting better. He asked if there was anything I wanted to say (about the situation with Mom), anything I wanted to get off my chest so to speak. So I told him I don’t know what to say. I get the sense he worries about me. I’m still processing that because it’s really the first time in my life he has…well except after Janet died. He even sent a couple of pictures of my niece. She is so beautiful. I still can’t get over her curly hair–where did that come from?

I guess the next biggest chance will be when I eventually have to live on my own. I run a house now anyways so I could do it but it will be the first time I will be responsible for myself.

Leave a Reply

