A NEW BEGINNING

Mountaintops and Valleys
Describe a time when you quickly switched from feeling at the top of the world to sinking all the way down (or vice versa). Did you learn anything about yourself in the process?
I think the answer to this question would be everday lately.
Yesterday my brother and I went to the bank to get the ball rolling on the estate. Mom left me a little more because I was taking care of her and the house. Needless to say my brother is not happy with this. We are sitting in the driveway “discussing” it. I had to tell him that I’m not going to fight over money with you.
Yesterday it was 2 weeks since Mom died. To me it’s dishonouring her memory. Unfortunately all he can focus on right now is the hurt he feels over being estranged from Mom. He feels the money issue is her way of punishing him. But he will never see that even someone as selfless as Mom will not watch her children fight. Will protect herself.
This money is going to give me the chance to have a life of my own. Here’s the thing…don’t I deserve to have a nice life too? Don’t I deserve to travel, to treat myself to a nice dinner etc. Why is that only reserved for him? Because to my way of thinking he has EVERYTHING. He has well paying job, a 4 bedroom house in Toronto, a Nanny, a beautiful wife, the sweetest little girl and another baby on the way. In my eyes his life is pretty well perfect. His life didn’t change when Janet died, Dad died. I know he hurts now but you know what IT SHOULD HURT!! Because losing someone close to us hurts.
The thing that makes me really mad about this whole thing is he reduced his mother down to money. He reduced Janet down to how she died. They are more than that. They loved me unconditionally and I loved them. I miss them so much but at least I have the memories to hold on to.

Leave a Reply

