REAL LOVE

Take Me to the Moon
How far would you go for someone you love? How far would you want someone else to go for you?
How far would I go for someone I love? I would do anything. When Janet died we didn’t talk about her as a family anymore. Mom and I would but the men didn’t. This blog is a way of honouring her. To show that she was more than just the day of her death. Janet was and still is my best friend. We would do anything for each other. That was true unconditional love. I live my life honouring her.

When my Dad had cancer his wish was to die at home. Eventually we realized we just couldn’t look after him at home anymore. But I gave him that time at home. I would pick flowers and put them on his bedside table. I cleaned up after him when he was sick. One day his legs gave out and I had to lower him to the carpet so he wouldn’t hurt himself. I pureed his food. I held his hand after he decided that he had to go back to hospital. I told him that I loved him.

I fought for both my parents. I was their advocate in the health care system/maze. I helped Mom get dressed in the morning. Picked up her pills from the drugstore, went to the bank, got groceried delivered and cooked them.
In both of these instances it was hard. And there were times when I was mad at what I had to deal with alone. Yes, I was mad at them. It wasn’t so much mad at them as I was mad at the situation. But that’s love too. Love hurts sometimes.

Love also means protecting myself. It means putting up a wall with people that I know are going to hurt me.

Last night I was talking to a friend of mine who loves me for me. My friends tell me how amazing I am, how proud they are. My cousin’s wife always ends the conversation telling me she loves me. That’s true Christian love.

2 thoughts on “REAL LOVE

Leave a Reply

