A life that is my own

Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other
What does the future hold for me? Well I was going to title this prompt “A life free from toxic people”.
Right now it’s just one day at a time. That’s all I can manage. I’ve started seeing Christmas commercials so pretty soon I will have to figure out what I am going to do for the day. I’m thinking of renting a room down the street so I’m not in the house. They are already advertising for Christmas dinner as well. Mom and I always dressed up for Christmas even at home because it was a special day.
My future is put on hold until I have a place to live. I am on the waiting list for the apartment building I want to go to. It has a lot of activities and a good community atmosphere which will be good for me. Honestly there is a part of me that can’t believe that someday I will only be responsible for myself. That I will no longer have to do yardwork or take out garbage. It hasn’t really sunk in yet because I’ve looked after other people for so long.
When I signed up for the writing class this fall I thought I would have more time to write but it didn’t happen. I didn’t realize how much work is involved in an estate. How much paperwork. And that’s something to look forward to in my new place. Time to write.
This summer I will be going to the Twinless Twins conference in Detroit. A weekend for ME. Lots and lots of hugs. I come away feeling so loved. Right now that is something to hold on to.
When one is grieving we can’t see that far ahead. We never imagined a future without our loved one and yet somehow we have to go on to create our own life without them. It’s hard.

One thought on “A life that is my own

Leave a Reply

