NOW–Photo Challenge

mantleNow
Well it’s Christmas Day. It doesn’t really feel like it though because NOW it’s just me.
When we were little we would race down the stairs to see what Santa had brought. Mom would get up in the middle of the night to put the turkey in. Dad would be up watching the Yule log channel. When we got older we had to wait until 10 to wake my brother up. That was the latest that Dad would let him sleep in. After breakfast we would open presents and then at 12:30 or 1 we would have our turkey dinner.
I didn’t put up a tree this year but I decorated the mantle. Right now I’m still in the house so I can because when I move into an apartment I will have to change my decorating. I saw a segment on a talk show a few days ago where they were showing a “Selfie” tree. You take pictures of your guests print them out and hang them with a clothes pin on the tree. I thought what a great idea. A way to remember all my friends. A new tradition.
Because that’s what Christmas means now. Figuring out what Christmas is going to be like by myself.
I’m the keeper of the memories.

One thought on “NOW–Photo Challenge

  1. Pingback: Now | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

