Time is fleeting memories aren’t

Fleeting
I think we all go through life thinking that there will be time but I have learned in my fairly young life that time is short, it’s precious. I thought Janet and I would live to be old ladies together. I thought my Dad would live a long time because he lived on a farm, he was a letter carrier he was healthy but then he got cancer. I knew Mom was on what we would consider “borrowed time” because of her transplant but I never realized there was an expiration date to a kidney. Maybe that’s naive but I didn’t want to think about the fact that some day it would wear out.

My last blog post was about finding a new place to live. Last night I thought it’s probably a good thing that I’m not living in the same area. That I’m leaving my past behind. My neighbours attend my old church. I think I would always be expected to have a link there if I stayed even though it’s too painful for me to go back there even just to visit. In my new place I can just be Jennifer. Not the girl who has had so much loss.

So many friends are happy for me. For the first time in a long time I feel joy and excitement. I still haven’t rapped my head around the fact that I’m never going to have to do yardwork or shovel snow or go up and down 2 flights of stairs to do laundry. I get to have free time.

I am so thankful for parents who have provided me the opportunity to have such a beautiful place.
A place to call home.

2 thoughts on “Time is fleeting memories aren’t

  1. Dear jenn it all sounds so positive and it’s all falling into place isn’t it. I’m really happy for you. I’m in tel aviv now and today I’m going on a tour to Jerusalem and Bethlehem I never thought in my wildest dreams I would be here but this flt was awarded to me for a reason too. I didn’t bid it…….. Everything for a reason …..

Leave a Reply

