COURAGE

Fearless
I wouldn’t consider myself “fearless” but I know that I have had to put on a brave face for the past 9 years. When my twin died I had to deal with a lot of stuff that I wish I never had to deal with. Even when I go to conference I now choose not to share the story of how she died. To me it’s such a small part of her life and I don’t want that to be how she is remembered. Even after going 3 times to Twinless Twins conference I still don’t understand what the purpose is. But it takes courage to get up in front of a group of strangers (who eventually aren’t) and share the most painful day of your life.

I was scared last year of being alone. I was scared of what was going to happen. This is now my reality and I have learned how to be resourceful, strong.

A friend of mine wrote that it takes courage to move on to a new place. I never thought about it that way. I also think it takes courage for people to stay in the house that they have shared with their spouse for 50 years. To live with the memories.

Courage means I’ve had to be “forceful” to people. My brother knows I’m moving but I haven’t plucked up the courage to tell him exactly when. Moving means I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Courage isn’t about being a superhero. It’s about doing the best we can each and every day.

2 thoughts on “COURAGE

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 7 – “The Endless Beauty Of An Authentic Voice” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

