Holidays

Footsteps
It’s Easter weekend. Mom and I didn’t always go to church on holidays after Dad died because we would sit and look at all the families and it was a reminder of what we lost. I can’t do church on holidays alone now.
Tomorrow I am going to the Inn down the street for brunch. It will be hard because Mom and I went last year. I took pictures. I thought it was a good picture of her but she thought she looked old. I guess you could say it takes courage for me to go and eat alone. As my Dad would say “hey, you gotta eat!” The other day I remembered when we had the food channel and Dad really liked watching Emeril. Emeril would say “and I said to myself SELF” and Dad would yell out SELF. I don’t know why thst popped into my head but it made me laugh.
This past month has been like a roller coaster. Days of feeling quite overwhelmed, the stress of finding a place to live, income tax, cleaning out the house. The joy of finding a place to live and buying new stuff. The excitement of being able to do things that I had to give up.
At the same time I know that after I move it will hit me that I’m leaving the only home I have ever known. Keeping busy means that I can partly avoid it.
The prompt for today is footsteps. I was going to title this post walk with me. I know my family walks beside me. I know my friends do too.

4 thoughts on “Holidays

  1. “The other day I remembered when we had the food channel and Dad really liked watching Emeril. Emeril would say “and I said to myself SELF” and Dad would yell out SELF.” What a great memory!!!

  2. Over my lifetime I have spent a lot of holidays alone. As a child in the hospital, young woman out on her own, married – and then divorced. Kids off on visitation. Consider going to a service or Mass. You will not be the only person sitting there, but you are not alone. God is with you. Hold that close to your heart. I have gone to church for years “alone’ as my kids are in their 20’s now. An older lady adopted me, even called me last night to be sure I’d be there for Easter Sunday. Church is not about the families you see, though it may feel that way. It is hard to let our guard down, open our hearts to people, people who are not always as friendly as we need them to be. Stick out your hand and say Happy Easter, I’m ___. Hoping you don’t let life keep you low. Sending a hug and a prayer (and hoping this time I’m not writing on an authors page, who is telling a story cos eh did that the other day and felt dumb. Regardless – all for God. Wishing you a peaceful and blessed Easter. Laurie

Leave a Reply

