What makes a place “Home”?

Superstition
I was talking to my friend on facebook yesterday and I told her after putting up my family picture it’s starting to feel like home. She said it made her feel good that I used that word. It’s not quite there yet as I don’t have any furniture except for a few things that I brought from home. I know that I want to hang my quilt in my bedroom. I need to get the pictures that my friend drew framed. I was going to do a grouping but I think it would be better to do it as 6 in one big frame and then there is only one hole in the wall.
At my house we only had one phone jack because my Dad was stubborn and wouldn’t put one on the bedroom level. Absolutely no privacy until we got a cordless phone about 10 years ago. Now I have one phone in the living room and one in the kitchen. I haven’t got my printer and scanner yet and will have to squeeze it in the corner as the furnace is in the closet.
I think once I get a bookcase and put my “treasures” in it my place will start to have a personality. A couch with some accent pillows.
I used to think it was the people in it that made a house a home. The house I grew up in will always be my home even though I no longer live there. But our memories live on in the walls. Us playing in the snow, sledding down the hill, Janet helping the big turtle over the fence, Dad helping the injured snow goose. Just sitting outside on the deck with Dad or Janet with a glass of iced tea. The scent of lily of the valley which is Janet’s favourite. Picking tulips for the table. Jumping in a pile of leaves.
I look forward to the first time my friend DK comes for coffee. Maybe a birthday party.
Opportunities for new memories.

One thought on “What makes a place “Home”?

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 8 – “Vulnerable Delight” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

