SOLITUDE

Solitude
Tomorrow it will be four weeks since I moved into my apartment. Last Sunday I had time to read a book. My friend was so pleased for me. A twin friend of mine said this place is my refuge and it is. The things that other people take for granted like going for a walk, reading a book or even going to see a movie I now have time to do.
My Aunt asked if I missed the house and I said no. The house was full of things that I had to do. As I told a friend yesterday I never seemed to get ahead there was always something to do. My aunt likes to keep busy so she’s ok with that but I was at the point where I didn’t want the responsibility. I always thought of it as my parents house and yet after Dad died I had all the responsibility of looking after it.
I have told my brother that he will be selling the house on his own. I did the heavy lifting of cleaning out the house so it’s now his turn. This means that I can remove the stress from my life. I can do the things that need doing in the apartment…like finally get furniture! I can have time to go to the park.
I have looked after everyone else since my twin died almost 10 years ago. I have been told many times by Drs that I need to start taking care of myself but that was impossible while looking after my Mom.
This is MY TIME.

3 thoughts on “SOLITUDE

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 28 – “What Could Be So Important?” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

