What’s your occupation?

Dream
On Friday when I went to the furniture store the sales guy asked what I do for a living. Then yesterday when I was signing the papers for the house the buyer had to put down my occupation. So I said for probate it’s listed as caregiver. While I am unemployed it isn’t an accurate term as I’m working at cleaning the house, picking up mail, dealing with banking and legal stuff. For the probate Mom was listed as “homemaker” but she was more than that. She was Dads partner. They made decisions together. Yes Dads decision was final but on money matters they were joint. We were lucky to have a father that could afford to have Mom stay home with us. We had homemade lunches, snacks after school, pizza days for PD days.
The big thing in our news is that the Prime Ministers wife needs an aid for all the work that she does. Tax payers are up in arms because we have to pay for it. While I’m not a Liberal supporter as someone who cared for her mother I don’t have a problem with it. It’s providing someone a job. If she stayed home full time with her kids we would complain that she isn’t supporting her husband. Think about everything that she has to give up. I’m sure she doesn’t go out for coffee with her girlfriends. in 2016 why do we still put so much emphasis on what women’s roles are?
I dream of a day when I am not treated differently by accountants, bankers, Drs just because I’m a woman.

2 thoughts on “What’s your occupation?

  1. Pingback: #BeReal – DAVID ELLIS | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: #BeReal – DAVID ELLIS | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

