Empty or vacant

Empty
Went to sign the papers at the lawyers office this morning. It was all done in less than half an hour. Handed over my keys and the lawyer says “the house is vacant right”. The house is empty. It just felt so final.
The office was close enough to where I live that I walked home. I got an iced coffee and went and sat in the park to think. I felt like crying but the tears wouldn’t come. There is a feeling of emptiness that the it’s all over. People think I must be relieved and that isn’t the word I would use. There is relief that I don’t have the responsibility anymore but everything that Dad and Mom worked hard for is all gone. The money from the sale will go into estate account divided and we are done. Selling the family home really means I have no family anymore.
It’s going to take time to process. There is a hole where my family was. They are with me always but I miss their physical presence. There is an emptiness.

Leave a Reply

