Colours part 2 or panicked because I don’t know what to write

Panic

COLOURS
Red is spaghetti sauce simmering on the stove
The aroma of tomatoes wafting to my nose
Red is a lone flower in a vase
The innocence of a child putting it to her face
Yellow is tangy, sour and sweet
Like lemonade to beat the summer heat
Yellow is a sunrise covering the sky
Yellow is laughter drifting by
Pink is bubblegum bought from the store
A nickel will buy you some more
Green is newly mown grass in the summer
Trees awaken from slumber
Purple is lilacs, lavender too
Such a sweet smelling hue
Orange is pumpkin the scents of fall
Pumpkin spice lattes for all

It’s really interesting how colours make me think of family. We were supposed to write a story but I realize this is. My Moms spaghetti sauce simmering on the stove, rhubarb crisp. My niece holding the rose up to her nose at the graveside service for my Mom. Picking lilacs for my Dad to put beside his bed when he was going through cancer treatment. One year I was pulling a branch down to pick some and the whole thing broke off in my hand. I was sure my Dad would be mad but he said go get a bucket because they’ll have to go in water. My friend was thrilled because she got a big bunch.
I don’t even like pumpkin spice lattes but it fit the poem and it’s EVERYWHERE right now.

Leave a Reply

