Daring to be me

Daring
I have to skip writing class today since I’m having groceries delivered. For homework we were supposed to write on advice we were given or advice we gave. This was a hard one for me because I have written many times here on advice for people grieving I have a fear I would probably offend someone if I read it in class.
Growing up Janet was a tell it like it is person. I was the type of person who wanted everyone to get along so I would hold it in. Which definitely isn’t me now! Isn’t that the best advice you can give yourself is just to be yourself?
I have been in many relationships be if with friends or family where I soon realize that I have to be something I’m not in order to have a relationship with them. I start losing part of myself so I dare to be myself.
When people say life is too short it’s true. Life is too short to spend it with people who don’t lift you up. Who don’t see your true worth. If you feel like a friend is trying too hard chances are they aren’t a friend. True friendship isn’t always easy but in an emergency they will be there.
In our family once someone died they didn’t talk about them. Mom and I dared to be different. It meant we were pretty well ostracized from most people but we dared to say we loved them and we miss them and yes we will still talk about them.

3 thoughts on “Daring to be me

  1. This post goes hand and hand with a book I’m reading in my small group. The different types of friends. The older we get the wiser and easier to decern who is right and wrong in my life. I can tell you have some good people in your life and I’m happy for you. I can tell through your writing you’re feeling better as well.

Leave a Reply

