Rearrange

Rearrange
Ha, the first thing I thought of when I saw the word for today is how Mom and Janet would rearrange the dishes after I put them in the dishwasher. When we got a new dishwasher there was only one way to load since the tines were smaller on top.
When we went grocery shopping we made sure that we put the like things together but often they got rearranged for packing. There is nothing worse than having to hunt through bags for something that is supposed to go in the fridge.
I am the type of person that has to adjust a picture that is crooked. I get it from my Dad. Oh speaking of that yesterday I was watching Days of our Lives and Steve brings breakfast to Kayla. She tells him this is good. I’ve learned something. Really what did I teach you. “I no longer put ketchup on my scrambled eggs” oh that made me laugh out loud. And long time followers will know why!
One time Janet and I were ushering for communion with a friend of ours. We were sitting at the back and I was staring at the flap of a pocket on this mans suit jacket. Finally I couldn’t take it anymore and went up and adjusted it so that it was flat again. Of course my friend and Janet laughed so hard. Her Dad was an elder and was looking at me like what the heck is she doing? Yes, I’m the woman who will put your tag inside your shirt.
My parents were careful with their money. Now I have to rearrange my thinking to tell myself go and have fun! Go and get a manicure or a badly needed pedicure.
This year I’m going to be more extravagant on gifts because my friends have been there for me.
Right now I am sitting in Williams Coffee Pub having a coffee while I’m writing my blog. Looking after Mom time like this would be a luxury. Now I do it fairly often.
When I first started writing I never thought I was a writer. But going to writing class I realized everyone has a style that is uniquely their own. I write from the heart. I’m humble like my Mom so I’m not used to praise.
Sometimes life chooses to do a little rearranging or in my case a cyclone went through but I came out the other side.

2 thoughts on “Rearrange

  1. You had me at rearranging the dishes in the dishwasher!
    I always do that when my husband loads it — and I have to remind myself that it was so so very nice of him to load the dishwasher at all and that I mustn’t complain. 🙂

Leave a Reply

