Cleaning

Clean
While I was waiting with the assistant for the Dr to come in on Monday he asked what I was going to do for the rest of the day so I said I have to clean the kitchen. At my house 99% of the time we used the side door to come into the house. Which meant we tracked dirt from outside. The only time it was clean was the day I cleaned it. Cleaning the kitchen now is such a breeze. I do have to clean the microwave..yuck.

When my grocery delivery guy came on Tuesday he didn’t have a debit machine because they were all in use. Could I pay by cheque? So I walked to the office a got one. He was shocked and actually told me most people wouldn’t be able to find them that quickly. It made me realize that my apartment is organized. I like to look at the posts for Peter Walsh’s clutter challenge. It made me realize that I no longer have the clutter. But I also realized that cleaning out someone else’s place helped with that. When my grandfather died there were five of us cleaning it out. Three kids, Mom and her brother. They had a 3 bedroom apartment PACKED with stuff even under the beds. My Uncle still comments about the margarine containers. This was before they had recycling in apartments so we threw most of it out. Then I did it again with the house I grew up in. It made me realize that I could live with a lot less stuff. I don’t have the stress or not knowing where something is.

Living in an apartment means there are less rooms to clean. I was telling a friend yesterday that I am looking forward to buying patio furniture because it’s the first time in years that I can sit out and not worry about all the yard work I should be doing. I can sit and journal with a cup of coffee in the morning.

Reading over other responses to today’s word prompt cleaning is not something anybody loves to do but there is a sense of accomplishment when it’s done. Speaking of which I need to put my laundry in the dryer.

Leave a Reply

