The Road

Parlay
Ever notice how many songs talk about a road? I don’t know why the first one that came to mind was the one sung by Della Reese in Touched by an Angel. “When you walk down the road…” and it talks about how I will walk with you. Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz walks with the lion, the tin man and the scarecrow. Because the journey becomes easier walking with someone else.

When my Dad had cancer my go to song was The Climb. In the video she is walking down a road/highway. For me the road changed. When Janet died I remember it was like a small path with a tiny light in the distance. I just put one foot in front of the other at that point. But I also knew that I was walking this road alone. Until I joined the Twinless Twins group I was. My friends were a support but they weren’t twins.

I have friends that have stayed with me on this journey. Relationships require work. I remember when I reconnected with a friend from public school we would talk about anything. I had a box of letters from my friend from college. The great thing is now they are with me to see the changes in my life.

On Thursday I was driving through my old neighbourhood with my friends. It’s filled with memories with my family. Now I’m surrounded by different roads. New memories.

Leave a Reply

