A year

Murmuration
One of the memories that came up in my newsfeed on Facebook was the post I wrote a year ago about finding an apartment. I can’t believe that it was a year ago. It doesn’t seem that long because I was so busy last year that I didn’t have time to settle in.

I was talking to a friend of Mom yesterday afternoon and she asked if my apartment is finished now. I still need patio furniture, some art for my bedroom. But I got to thinking how in a house you learn to live with some things while you raise enough money to replace the kitchen cabinets or replace the sofa with a new leather one. Maybe you change the paint colour. Sitting on my balcony alone might be hard the first time because it’s an activity I associate with Janet and my Dad. Janet and I would sit outside after supper until it was dark. I loved watching the fireflies. The woman I was talking to said she would be out there often with a coffee and a book (for me it would be a journal). At the house it was a treat to be able to sit and journal. It’s so different now having time.

Today is daylight savings time. Mom and I would share the duty of changing the clocks. You never notice how many you have until you have to change them. Now I only have two..phone and microwave. I have one on the stove but I don’t bother with it. Electronics are great because they change themselves..now if they could just send me a reminder to charge them I would be all set!

Leave a Reply

