First Impressions

Impression
Don’t judge a book by its cover. You only have one chance to make a good impression. Doesn’t one seem to go against the other? I think we all judge people on first impressions. Growing up I was taught by my grandma to always dress nicely because that is the way you present yourself to the world. I didn’t get it then. I just knew that we didn’t dress like the other kids. But it stayed with me as an adult.
It’s one thing I don’t like about casual Fridays at banks. Men never really get to dress down but women do. Even as a teenager I could pick up on who treated customers equally and who was only looking out for their own interests. I guess you could say that made a “lasting impression” because I still do it.
Looking for an apartment the first impression is what I went on. I was predominantly looking online so I would look at the floor plan and photos. When I went to see one I kept telling myself to look beyond the clutter but I just didn’t have that gut reaction. When I went to see this one I knew immediately. There was also the difference of superintendents. One treated me like a number and one treated me like family. Everyone’s home has a different vibe.
First impresssions are also deceiving. My Dad drove a Ford, my brother drove a BMW. But now he drives an SUV…not a van because that’s a MOM CAR…his words not mine. We see a certain car and think of the type of person that drives that. Some people can be very charming and then you dig a little deeper and realize it’s all an act.
I’m a what you see is what you get type of person. Janet and I had our handwriting analyzed at a women’s show one time. We were both the same. I had a twin friend tell me that I took after my Mom and it was a wonderful compliment.

2 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. You’re totally right. Whether its against our better judgement or not, I think we all instinctively make a first impression on everything but it’s our actions afterward that matter most.

Leave a Reply

