June

Trace
I can’t believe that tomorrow is the first day of June. June always seems to be a busier month for me. Tomorrow I’m meeting a friend for dinner who happens to be in the city for an appointment. Monday I’m going to a luncheon at church. A dietician is giving a talk on nutrition and cooking for one. It’s a lot easier in better weather since I can walk to the farmers market and get fresh produce but my issue has always been buying too much stuff. Cut melon is more practical for one but it costs twice as much.
June is a roller coaster of emotions for me. It’s full of memories. Three weeks tomorrow is our birthday. It’s not just my birthday it will always be ours. Mom and I would go to the cemetery. It may seem weird to some people but it was my way of acknowledging that it’s her birthday too. After my Dad died we would put flowers on for both. I try to avoid card shops because it’s full of Father’s Day cards. Of course there are commercials and all the flyers…Dad needs a new BBQ. At the same time June 26 is the day we went outside at parkwood and wheeled him around the gardens. It was the first time he had been outside since his tumour grew back. It’s a memory we all cherish.
Facebook reminds you of the day of a friend’s birthday. When I wake up in the morning I will probably have a few posts on my wall. I have twin friends who will include Janet in the post which is special. It’s a day where I feel really loved. But at the same time I don’t “celebrate” because it just isn’t the right word. I honour our twinship.

One thought on “June

  1. Loving your writing, I like the part where you said about not celebrating birthdays, I totally agree with the way you think, I do not like to celebrate birthdays, it is when your mother suffers the most, and it is a peculiar way that you mention the word honour. Loving your perspective. Hope to see more from you. Have hope, write on!

Leave a Reply

