Meddle

Meddle
The definition of meddle…interfere in or busy oneself unduly with something that is not one’s concern.
We had this happen a couple of times with very personal family issues. My Dad asked his brother to help but of course he ended up taking over. When my Dad was in the hospital he meddled again and it bit him in the butt. In both of these instances he didn’t trust us to be capable of doing it on our own. Because isn’t that why people meddle because they think they could do it better?
In my life I have carried this with me. When my Mom was sick I didn’t ask for help because it was easier doing it on my own. Looking after my Moms estate we were “joint executors” on paper but when someone has meddled in your affairs it’s pretty hard to trust them.
I wouldn’t say my Dad meddled but he gave “advice” for money. My Mom was the type of person that let us figure stuff out on our own. She knew if a friend wasn’t right for us. When we were little they didn’t break up a fight they let us resolve it on our own.
I think I’m a good listener. I have found with myself that I know what to do it’s just a matter of working it out for myself. I want to give my friends that same respect.
After my twin died there were a lot of things that were out of my control. There were a lot of decisions that I didn’t get to make. The things I could control I did. When I was looking for an apartment people gave me advice. My Mom could tell you that I am stubborn. If you told me to do something I would do the exact opposite. Or MY WAY as she would say.
There are times when I wish they were hear to give me advice but I also know they gave me the skills to do it on my own.

Leave a Reply

