Birthday


I was looking through photo albums last night and this is one of my favourites. I recently did a blog post where I wrote that I don’t celebrate I honour the day. It’s hard to explain what the difference is but celebrating means friends, cake, presents where as honouring is posting a picture on Facebook. Honouring the love I have for my twin and honouring my feelings. That’s a big one. When I posted this photo I said it’s not hard to figure out which one is me and a close twin friend got it right away. I’ll give you a hint and say I was the Imp. That’s what my Mom called me. I would get a twinkle in my eye and Mom knew I was up to mischief. I have gotten to the point where I can look at pictures and there isn’t the pang that I used to get.

Some people wish me a Happy Birthday but I prefer thinking of you because it’s not happy. A good friend of mine wrote how lucky I am to have this photo. My former neighbour wrote how blessed I was to be a twin. It’s a day where I am very loved and that’s special but I miss Janet terribly. This picture is of us celebrating together.

On my way home on the bus on Monday I stopped off and bought myself gerbera daisies. A friend bought me them for my birthday one year and it’s been a tradition ever since. I buy yellow for me and red for Janet. The woman asked if I needed a card and I told her no they’re for myself.

I’m going to go for a walk today and buy a cupcake. I’ll sit on the balcony to eat it. The past few years it has rained around the time of my birthday and yet the day of it’s sunny. That’s Janet shining down on me.
I love you my bud.

2 thoughts on “Birthday

Leave a Reply

