Just wear the mask

About a month after everything shut down in my city (and the rest of the world) I had to go for bloodwork. A friend of mine had been sewing masks so I asked her if she still had one available and she dropped it off for me. At that time it wasn’t mandatory to wear a mask and I was the only one that did. My neighbour drove me (I sat in the back) and even she looked at me strangely for wearing one. A week ago I had to get fasting bloodwork for another Dr. Needless to say the combination of wearing a mask and not having anything to eat wasn’t pleasant but I did it.
I recently went into Shoppers Drug Mart where I counted only one person out of 6 who wore a mask besides myself. I actually had to pass someone in the aisle and he wasn’t wearing one. It’s why I have my prescriptions delivered because I don’t feel comfortable going into a smaller store where people aren’t wearing a mask.
This morning a friend of mine wrote that she had to tell someone to move away from her at the grocery store. I haven’t been in a grocery store since this started and that is why.
As someone who grew up with a family member who was immune compromised because of a kidney transplant I was always aware of taking precautions if I could. When flu shots were given out for free at the high school near us Janet and I both went to get one. At the time I don’t think we ever got the flu but we weren’t doing it for our sake but for hers. Early on she couldn’t get a flu shot because of her transplant.
I guess this is what I don’t understand about the people that refuse to wear one. Sure it’s uncomfortable, hot and if you wear glasses you are going to fog them up. But you aren’t doing it for yourself you are doing it to protect others too. I have friends on Facebook that post the numbers. California has reached 200,000 cases. I don’t know how many deaths that is. Maybe we should start thinking of that death could be someone’s mother, father, husband.

Leave a comment