Connections


I have shared the story here of the year that I bid on this quilt at the Twinless Twins conference in Detroit. I saw it hanging on the wall when I walked in and knew I had to have it. It wasn’t until I got home that I noticed it had our favourite colours in it. Red and hunter green for Janet and yellow and purple for me. It’s interesting to note that yellow and purple are opposites on the colour wheel. At the time I remember telling myself that life was too short. That I would regret not buying it. A fellow twin who was sitting at my table sent me an email when she got home and said she went out and bought red boots that she had been admiring because I inspired her. It now has a prominent place in my apartment. I think the things that you have in your home should make you happy.
This morning when I walked over to the booth that sells frozen meals she asked me if I’m a twin. I had commented on a picture of the meal I had last week and she noticed the picture of me and Janet on my profile page. She said it made her so happy. Then she told me her partner is a twin but he doesn’t look like his twin. In 2 weeks it will be our birthday and I think this was a little reminder that the connection lives on. That being a twin is special. I shared with her that my twin died and how birthdays are different. How you think you will be able to share the day with them forever. She’s still with me.

5 thoughts on “Connections

  1. Ah, so touching. What a beautiful story, and the surprise ending caught my heart. I’m so glad that your connection remains open and loving. And I’m sorry for your loss. My niece has two-year-old twins and their closeness is so stunning. I have just a hint of what she means to you. Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a comment