Home is where the heart is?

Places
I’ve lived in the same house for 40 yrs. I know some of you probably can’t believe that someone could. When I was little I thought our house was huge. I loved our big backyard where we had our own swingset and a hill where we could sled in the winter. That was back when it was fun to have a big backyard. Now I just look at it as work. Wow, look at all those weeds. An hour to cut the grass. Yeah, yeah it’s exercise. I’d rather sit on the deck with a glass of iced tea.
When my Mom gets stronger we need to think about moving into an apartment. When I first started going through stuff it was hard. A lot of memories. Now I see it as a fresh start. A way to make new memories. Dad and Janet are in our hearts, not in the “stuff”.

3 thoughts on “Home is where the heart is?

  1. Pingback: Spread Love Challenge | Bittersweet Sensations

  2. Pingback: Gran Quivira | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. Pingback: Of all places… | My Atheist Blog

Leave a comment