Second chances

Restart
I was thinking about this from the stand point of the restart button on our computer. It doesn’t take away anything it just refreshes your computer.
It’s the same way in life. When I moved I called it a new beginning but it is like restarting a computer. All the memories, hurts and joys are still stored away. I’m just adding to it.
A couple of days ago I was filling out the forms to renew my passport. When it came to the section where I had to put down how long I have known my friend I wasn’t really sure. I’ve known her for a long time since we grew up in the same church but I don’t think we were really friends until 95 so that’s what I put down. Even though we have known each other for a long time there was about 6 months where we didn’t talk at all. She was not good at responding to emails and phone calls and I just stopped doing it. One of her students died and I took a chance and phoned her. We talked it through and now we make sure we go for coffee once a month.
I’ve titled this second chances because that is what I was taught that everyone deserves a second chance. Unfortunately sometimes it ends up being multiple chances. When we give someone a second chance we don’t erase what happened before. In my case it’s a matter of trust. Is my relationship with you important enough to give you a second chance. Does the person know why I was upset with them in the first place? I’m lucky that my relationship with my coffee buddy is stronger than ever. I don’t take it for granted that I can talk to her about anything because trust does not come easy for me. I rely on my friends to keep me in check because they are my family.

3 thoughts on “Second chances

  1. Good one, I am also having same thing but not getting a second chance. I have no clue why they are so ignorant! I have no clue what went wrong. I always try to give others another chance.
    Thank for sharing, and good day!

  2. Pingback: Restart | Wired With Words

Leave a comment