Yes, women are allowed to be angry

The word for today is seethe and I don’t think I have ever been that angry in my life. There have been times when I have been so upset I was shaking but that was a feeling of frustration too.
Anger is a stage we go through in grief and yet people are uncomfortable with it especially in women. It was why I journaled a lot because I had feelings that I couldn’t express. If I look back at my blog posts after my Mom died there was a lot of anger there. I was mad at the world because it all seemed so unfair. It was why I didn’t want to talk to the people from church. They wanted me to tell them that I was ok when I was far from it. I had to fight for everyone else…my parents health and keeping Janet’s memory alive…it was now time to fight for ME.
Anger is not a nice feeling but at the same time I know that I was able to stand up to people because of it. I knew of someone who just wouldn’t go there. My Dad said she smiled all the time.
Recently I got an email from a twin friend. We are both angry at the changes we see in our group. I feel sad that good people are leaving because of it. I could be writing more for the newsletter but I’m at a point where I don’t know if people are even reading it.
I think we have all said things in anger. Once it’s out there we can’t go back. I have friends that I email occasionally but I know we will never get together. Some friendships are not meant to last forever. That’s ok.

Leave a comment